Googlebot viewport

• Hi guys,

I'm facing a small technical issue with major (negative) impact on SEO. Currently one of my projects (https://www.weisenfeld.info) is not properly interpreted by Googlebot (type = desktop).

Unfortunately the text below the visual is not interpreted at all.

I could fix the error by adding the following CSS (already tested and confirmed):

However, this results in a wrong marker within the sticky table of content widget on the right hand side. If the asset with the CSS is activated, menu items will not be highlighted properly there.

Any ideas or recommendations? Thanks in advance.

Best regards,

Ben

• Hi Ben,

I'm not a pro with css and never worked with vh values before, but it sounds like similar problem I faced in the path.

I'm guessing a global css rule is styling the element you wrote about not the way you would like to have it.

As far I know the styles closest to the object a div for example applies. Sometimes it is easier just to overwrite with: !important; the values interfere to reach the desired results.

If you can describe exactly what you want to reach on which element on that site then we can figure out for sure how to do that.

What I can imagine why it goes wrong that you try to change the way pagekit handles the viewport things. Pagekit has an own viewport system that is more old fashioned one in compare to the viewport settings you used.

Additional info: the support of the viewport techniques differs from browser to browser and different version of the browsers, so to reach max compatibility it should always be considered to use the technique that is most supported.

Kind regards,

Fossy

• Well, the toc only does the things that are visible. It adds an element and some JS to the page.

So I can not imagine that this has something to do with the viewport...?